Veteran L.A.-based rockers Dawes have announced the forthcoming release of their seventh studio LP, GOOD LUCK WITH WHATEVER, out Friday, October 2nd via Rounder Records.

Produced by Grammy-winner Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, Marcus King) at Nashville, TN’s famed RCA Studio A, the album’s announcement arrives with the release of its first single, “Who Do You Think You’re Talking To”, the first new music released by the band since 2018’s Passwords.

From its first downbeat, the new LP sees Dawes frontman Taylor Goldsmith grappling with the expectations of adulthood with graceful melodies, kinetic riffs, and intricate musical interplay. Throughout the album, Dawes once again proves incredibly adept at pushing the emotional limits of the classically structured rock song, a testament to their tightly honed yet imaginative musicianship and the gripping specificity of Goldsmith’s songwriting. A culmination of their entire catalogue and decade-long career all wrapped up in nine tracks, GOOD LUCK WITH WHATEVER reclaims the rugged urgency and easy confidence of Dawes’ early work while tapping into the veteran band’s intense musical connection more effectively than ever before.

Related: Molly Tuttle, Dawes’ Taylor Goldsmith Share “Standing On The Moon” Cover [Video]

“In the past, I’ve definitely been more precious about the way I wanted the songs to sound, but that’s never as fun,” Taylor Goldsmith notes in a press release. “The music we make is everyone’s mode of expression, and the other guys all have chops that I don’t have and never will. The fact that we’re able to lean on each other and celebrate each other as individuals just makes us so much more excited about getting to play together in this band.”

Stream the album’s lead single, “Who Do You Think You’re Talking To?”, on the platform of your choice here and watch the official music video for the track below:

DAWES – “Who Do You Think You’re Talking To?” – Official Video

[Video: Dawes]

Dawes also recently unveiled LIVE FROM RICHMOND, VA, an eleven-track concert recording available exclusively as a digital download via Bandcamp. All proceeds from the live record will be divided between Reform LA Jails and Black Lives Matter Los Angeles.