Edgar Winter has released a star-studded, 17-song tribute to his late brother and bandmate, guitarist Johnny Winter. The album features two new original tracks and guest appearances by Ringo Starr, Warren Haynes, Derek Trucks, Billy Gibbons, Joe Bonamassa, Joe Walsh, and the late Taylor Hawkins, among others.

Famous for their musical prowess and distinctive fair-haired look, Edgar and Johnny Winter attained notoriety in the early ’70s with songs like “Free Ride” and the rocking instrumental “Frankenstein”. The new tribute album from Edgar Winter is an emotional homage to his brother Johnny, who passed away in 2014. The album’s 17 guitar-driven tracks celebrate Johnny’s evolution as an artist, with a broad range of originals and covers including the Rolling Stones‘ “Jumping’ Jack Flash” with Phil X on vocals, Chuck Berry‘s “Johnny B. Goode” with Joe Walsh and David Grissom, and Muddy Waters‘s “Got My Mojo Workin” with Bobby Rush on vocals.

Related: Watch Johnny Winter’s Electric Performance From Massey Hall 1983

A recreation of the song “Guess I’ll Go Away” off 1970’s Johnny Winter And features the late Taylor Hawkins on vocals, marking the Foo Fighters drummer’s first posthumous release since his tragic death last month.

“Stranger”, the fourth focus track off the album, is a tender and revealing ballad whose emotional potency is enhanced by guest collaborators Michael McDonald (vocals), Joe Walsh (lead guitar), and Ringo Starr (drums).

“I absolutely love this ballad, partly because it is so uncharacteristic of Johnny’s style and image,” Edgar explained. “It is on the soft side, very melodic, and sensitive, displaying a vulnerability Johnny does not often reveal.”

Brother Johnny is out now on all streaming platforms. Double 180-gram vinyl copies are available for pre-order and will be released in mid-June. Listen to songs off the album and view the complete track list and credits below.

Edgar Winter – “Mean Town Blues”

 Edgar Winter – “Lone Star Blues”

Edgar Winter – “Johnny B. Goode” (Chuck Berry)

[Video: Edgar Winter]

Full Track Listing/Credits:

Brother Johnny
Musician Credits

Gregg Bissonette: All Drums
Except Ringo Starr on “Stranger”

1. Mean Town Blues
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal
Joe Bonamassa: Slide Guitar
Sean Hurley: Bass

2. Still Alive And Well
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal
Group Vocals, and Organ
Kenny Wayne Shepherd: Lead Guitar
Phil X: Rhythm Guitars and Supporting Vocals
Sean Hurley: Bass

3. Lone Star Blues
Keb Mo: All Guitars, Bass, and Lead Vocal
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal

4. I’m Yours And I’m Hers
Billy Gibbons: Lead Vocal and first Guitar Solo
Derek Trucks: Slide Guitar and second Solo
David Grissom: Guitar
Edgar Winter: Keys
Sean Hurley: Bass

5. Johnny B. Goode
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal, Piano, and Alto Sax
Joe Walsh: Lead Vocal
David Grissom: Guitar
Phil X: Supporting Vocals
Bob Glaub: Bass

6. Stranger
Michael McDonald: Lead Vocal
Joe Walsh: Lead Guitar
Ringo Starr: Drums
Edgar Winter: Piano, Mellotron, and Synth
Tim Pierce: Electric and Acoustic Guitar
Bob Glaub: Bass
Kenny Aronoff: Percussion

7. Highway 61 Revisited
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal and Piano
Kenny Wayne Shepherd: Guitar
John McFee: Slide Guitar
Billy Payne: Organ
Sean Hurley: Bass

8. Rock ‘n’ Roll Hoochie Koo
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal, Group Vocals, and Clavinet
Steve Lukather: Guitar Solo
Tim Pierce: Guitar
Phil X: Additional Guitar and Supporting Vocals
Bob Glaub: Bass

9. When You Got A Good Friend
Doyle Bramhall ll: Lead Vocal, and All Guitars

10. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal, Group Vocals, and Keys
Phil X: Guitar Solos, Mandoguitar, and Supporting Vocals
Waddy Wachtel: Rhythm Guitar
Bob Glaub: Bass
Kenny Aronoff: Percussion

11. Guess I’ll Go Away
Taylor Hawkins: Lead Vocal, and all Supporting Vocals
Doug Rappoport: Guitar
Edgar Winter: Organ
Sean Hurley: Bass

12. Drown In My Own Tears
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal, Group Vocals, Piano, and Alto Sax,
Horn Section:
Wayne Bergeron: 1st Trumpet
Harry Kim: 2nd Trumpet
Edgar Winter: Tenor Sax
Doc Kupka: Bari Sax
*plays courtesy of Mac Records
Bob Glaub: Bass

13. Self Destructive Blues
Joe Bonamassa: Lead Vocal and Guitar
Edgar Winter: Piano
Bass: Sean Hurley

14. Memory Pain
Warren Haynes: Lead Vocal and Guitar
Edgar Winter: Organ
Sean Hurley: Bass

15. Stormy Monday Blues
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal and Piano
Robben Ford: Guitar
Bob Glaub: Bass

16. Got My Mojo Workin’
Bobby Rush: Lead Vocal and Harp
Edgar Winter: Piano
Michael McDonald and John McFee: Group Vocals
David Grissom: Guitar
Bass: Bob Glaub

17. End of The Line
Edgar Winter: Lead Vocal and Piano
String Section:
Charlie Bisharat: 1st Violin
Josefina Vergara: 2nd Violin
Andrew Duckles: Viola
Jacob Braun: Cello
Sean Hurley: Bass

View Track List/Credits