Electric Forest has become one of the most innovative music festivals of our time. In the past, the festival has announced its highly anticipated lineup in non-traditional formats, like in 2016, when they mailed out envelopes with names of artists to select fans and let social media do the rest. After expanding to two weekends last year (which demanded a more traditional announcement), Electric Forest is back with another unorthodox lineup announcement for 2018.

Electric Forest’s New ‘Wish Machine’ Can Grant Your Festival “Wish” In Exchange For Charity Work

As detailed by a Reddit thread, on Sunday night, Ann Arbor, Michigan’s Club Necto hosted a special pop-up event put on by the Electric Forest folks, which culminated in a performance by Space Jesus. Electric Forest used the event as a means to begin revealing the artists on its 2018 lineup, transforming the club into a puzzle room of sorts. As told by redditor /u/Supersighs, “Throughout the venue there [were] many posters were on the wall saying “Performer” is playing Electric Forest 2018. There was a special bar menu with clues to different acts playing. A little burlesque show that revealed some acts. There was a different number on each Men and Women bathroom mirror that if you called, had an artist saying they’re excited to be playing EF2018. The toilet paper had a word scramble all over it revealing an act. There was also a word search projected on the building also revealing some acts.”

The folks over at Reddit have been keeping tabs on the artist revealed at last night’s pop-up show. Here’s their list of artists confirmed for Electric Forest 2018 (though keep your eyes peeled for more announcements, as there are still upwards of 100 artists left to be announced!):

  • Everyone Orchestra
  • Spag Heddy
  • Noname
  • Xavier Rudd
  • Rufus Du Sol
  • Karl Densons Tiny Universe
  • Manic Focus
  • Chromeo
  • Hayden James
  • Sodown
  • SunSquabi
  • Fruition
  • Clozee
  • Boogie T
  • Louis the Child
  • Misterwives
  • Gryffin
  • Cookie Monsta
  • G Jones
  • Buku
  • Penguin Prison
  • Yookie
  • Eprom
  • Jody Litvack
  • Space Jesus

[H/T YourEDM; Photo: Adam Straughn]