The Flaming Lips have announced their 15th studio album, King’s Mouth: Music And Songs, set for release on Friday, July 19th via Warner Bros. Records. King’s Mouth: Music And Songs is the follow-up to band’s 2017 album, Oczy Mlody. The new album will feature 12 tracks and the music will be connected by narration provided by The Clash’s Mick Jones.

The Flaming Lips issued a limited run of 4,000 copies of the LP on Record Store Day, which were pressed on gold vinyl and only available at participating independent record stores.

The album parallels frontman Wayne Coyne’s 2015 art installation, also called King’s Mouth, where participants crawl into a large metallic head to experience a music-driven LED light spectacle. King’s Mouth: Music And Songs will also be accompanied by a book, King’s Mouth: Immerse Heap Trip Fantasy Experience, which Coyne wrote and illustrated.

Coyne shared his thoughts on the new project. He explains,

The King’s Mouth immersive/child-like qualities are born from the same spark and womb as The Flaming Lips live performances. The King’s Mouth adventure was made for humans of all sizes, ages, cultures, and religions.

New York City-based independent record store/venue Rough Trade NYC will host A King’s Mouth: An Immersive Installation through Friday, May 31st. Head here for more information.

The Flaming Lips currently only have two scheduled North American performances, as the band will play Ogden, UT’s Ogden Amphitheater on July 18th, followed by a festival appearance at Louisville, KY’s Bourbon & Beyond on September 20th.

For ticketing and more information, head to The Flaming Lips’ website.

King’s Mouth: Music And Songs Tracklist:

  1. We Don’t Know How And We Don’t Know Why
  2. The Sparrow
  3. Giant Baby
  4. Mother Universe
  5. How Many Times
  6. Electric Fire
  7. All For The Life Of The City
  8. Feedaloodum Beedle Dot
  9. Funeral Parade
  10. Dipped In Steel
  11. Mouth Of The King
  12. How Can A Head
View Tracklist