After a five-year gap, Fuzz released a new album on Friday titled III. The record marks the third studio outing from the Ty Segall-led stoner metal trio, and a return to form for the landmark group.

The past few months were marked with the release of several singles ahead of the album’s drop date. On tracks like “Returning”, “Spit” and “Mirror“, Fuzz showed that absence made only made the heart grow fonder for fans of the heavy act. The record was supposed to be precipitated by the band’s first North American tour in five years, though COVID-19 postponed those arrangements. Still, the band is due to hit the road on that tour beginning with a two-night run at the Teragram Ballroom in Los Angeles on December 5th.

Related: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Announce ‘Live In San Francisco ‘16’ Double Album

III sees the reliable lineup of Segall on drums, guitarist Charles Moothart, and bassist Chad Ubovich return to form as the power-trio that gives their music an added oomph. From the piercing guitar tone that kicks off the album’s first track—the appropriately titled “Returning”—it’s as if the group never took a day off. While the recording style may be a bit higher quality from the group’s early low-fi approach, all of the makings of a classic Fuzz record are there in head-banging numbers like “Nothing People”. Clocking in at an even 36-minutes with only eight songs, here’s hoping we don’t have to wait another five years for the next record.

Stream the new Fuzz album, III, below. For tickets and information on Fuzz’s rescheduled North American tour, head to In The Red Records.

 Fuzz – III