Australian jazz-funk band Hiatus Kaiyote have returned with the announcement of a forthcoming studio album, a new lead single, and a small batch of 2021 tour dates.

On Tuesday the band announced the forthcoming release of Mood Valiant, due out on June 25th via Brainfeeder/Ninja Tune. The third full-length studio album from Hiatus Kaiyote will be their first since 2015’s Choose Your Weapon, and also their first album release since singer Naomi “Nai Palm” Saalfield was diagnosed with breast cancer back in 2018.

The album’s lead single, “Get Sun”, features veteran Brazilian composer/singer/producer Arthur Verocai, and hears the band delivering an energizing listening experience thanks to an overall uptempo groove, an inspiring vocal performance from Nail Palm, and the notable addition of Verocai’s horns.

“We had recorded the song ‘Get Sun’, and it already sounded good. We had no idea what he had written for it,” bassist Paul Bender said in a press statement of their collaboration with Verocai, which took place in Rio de Janeiro circa 2019. “When Verocai fired up his horn and string sections, it was a release for everyone. Tears were running down my face.”

Listen to the band’s new single below.

Hiatus Kaiyote – “Get Sun” (feat. Arthur Verocai)

[Video: Hiatus Kaiyote]

Additionally, Hiatus Kaiyote will embark on a run of select concert dates across their native Australia to promote the album beginning on July 2nd in Melbourne, and continuing in late September and into October with shows in Newcastle, Sydney, Perth, Brisbane, and more.

Click here to pre-order Mood Valiant. Fans who pre-order the album on any format will be entered to win a one-of-a-kind Hiatus Kaiyote notebook used by the band throughout the Mood Valiant production process.

Mood Valiant Tracklist:

1. Flight of the Tiger Lily
2. Sip Into Something Soft
3. Chivalry Is Not Dead
4. And We Go Gentle
5. Get Sun [ft. Arthur Verocai]
6. All the Words We Don’t Say
7. Hush Rattle
8. Rose Water
9. Red Room
10. Sparkle Tape Break Up
11. Stone or Lavender
12. Blood and Marrow