Folk Alliance International is gearing up to host its annual conference, which kicks off tonight in Kansas City, MO with the 36th annual International Folk Music Awards (IFMA), and NPR’s World Café will livestream the event for those who cannot attend.

Music industry leaders and artists from across the ever-growing folk spectrum will gather for the awards ceremony, which will feature a number of special performances and tributes by The Steel Wheels (also the house band), Kaia KaterJoy Clark (paying tribute to Tracy Chapman), Latin Grammy winner Mireya Ramos (paying tribute to Victor Jara tribute), and founding member of Old Crow Medicine Show, Willie Watson and Malena Cadiz (paying tribute to McCabe’s).

Nominees for the IFMAs include Molly Tuttle and Golden Highway (Album of the Year for City Of Gold), Billy Strings (Artist of the Year), Nickel Creek (Artist of the Year), Madi Diaz (Artist of the Year), Joy Oladokun (Song of the Year for “Changes”), Allison Russell (Song of the Year for “The Returner”), and Iris Dement (Song of the Year for “Workin’ On A World”).

Tracy Chapman, who recently performed her song “Fast Car” with Luke Combs at the Grammy Awards, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award, and this year’s People’s Voice Award, which recognizes artists who incorporate social and political commentary in their creative work and public careers, will go to Alynda Segarra of Hurray For the Riff Raff.

View the list of nominees for the 36th annual International Folk Music Awards below and click here for additional awards and conference details. Head here to watch the ceremony via NPR starting at 8:30 pm ET.

Album of the Year
Amatssou – Tinariwen (Wedge Records)
City Of Gold – Molly Tuttle and Golden Highway (Nonesuch)
False Lankum – Lankum (Rough Trade)
Stand in the Joy – William Prince (Six Shooter Records)
Welcome to Whatever – Rainbow Girls (self-release)

Artist of the Year (sponsored by the Folk Americana Roots Hall of Fame)
Billy Strings
Digging Roots
Gaby Moreno
Nickel Creek
Madi Diaz

Song of the Year
“Changes” written by Joy Oladokun & Dan Wilson, performed by Joy Oladokun
“Keep It On A Burner” written and performed by Margo Cilker
“Tears Run Dry” written by Abraham Alexander, Ian Barter, Leo Stannard, performed by Abraham Alexander
“The Returner” written by Allison Russell, Drew Lindsay, & JT Nero, performed by Allison Russell
“Workin’ On A World” written and performed by Iris Dement