The passing of James Casey at age 40 on Monday sent a wave of grief across the live music world. A fixture of various different musical circles, Casey made an indelible mark on countless lives in his community and beyond through his virtuosic musicianship, friendship, and uplifting perspective amid his two-year battle with cancer.

Below, you can view a mix of videos, stories, and other James Casey memories shared by members of the music community in the wake of his passing. Read our full obituary here. The Colorectal Cancer Alliance has also created a memorial fund in Casey’s honor, to which you can donate here.

We’ll miss you, James. Thank you for everything.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by James Casey (@jamescaseysax)

Trey Anastasio (Phish, Trey Anastasio Band)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Trey Anastasio (@treyanastasio)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Trey Anastasio (@treyanastasio)

Bill Kreutzmann (Grateful Dead, Billy & The Kids)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Bill Kreutzmann (@billkreutzmann)

Jennifer Hartswick (Trey Anastasio Band)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Jennifer Hartswick (@jhartswick)

Natalie Cressman (Trey Anastasio Band)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Natalie Cressman (@natcressman)

Billy Strings (Billy & The Kids)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Billy Strings (@billystrings)

Lettuce

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by LETTUCE (@lettucefunk)

Adam Deitch (Lettuce)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Adam Deitch (@deitchadam)

Dumpstaphunk

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Dumpstaphunk (@dumpstaphunk)

Dave Matthews (Dave Matthews Band)

Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band)

Oteil Burbridge (Dead & Company, Allman Brothers Band, Oteil & Friends)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Oteil ☥ (@oteil_burbridge)

Brady Watt

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Brady Watt (@bradywattbass)

Goose

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Goose (@goosetheband)

Nigel Hall (Lettuce)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Nigel Hall (@thenigelhall)

Nikki Glaspie (The Nth Power, Dumpstaphunk)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Nikki Glaspie (@nikkidrums)

Brandon “Taz” Niederauer

Cyro Baptista (Trey Anastasio Band)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Cyro Baptista (@cyrobaptista)

Dezron Douglas (Trey Anastasio Band)

Aron Magner (The Disco Biscuits, Billy & The Kids)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Aron Magner (@aronmagner)

Tom Hamilton (Billy & The Kids)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Tom Hamilton Jr (@trhjunior)

Dani Barbieri (Video Director)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Dani Barbieri (@dani__shoots)

Shira Elias (Cool Cool Cool)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Shira Elias (@shirashirabangbang)

Mike Greenfield (Lotus, Dance Party Time Machine)

BIGYUKI (Animus Rexx)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by 🔴💊🔵💊 (@bigyuki)

Spafford

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Spafford (@spaffordmusic)

Louis Cato (The Late Show Band)

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Louis Cato (@reallouiscato)