Austin, TX based electronic composer D.V.S* is poised to release his latest effort, an eight track offering titled Comfort Zone on fellow collaborator Emancipator’s record label, Loci Records.

On the scene with a steady stream of highly respected releases since 2009, D.V.S* aka Derek VanScoten is both a skilled producer and multi-instrumentalist.  As a diverse performer, D.V.S* has spent considerable time on the road with electronic acts including Big Gigantic, Beats Antique, Emancipator and Lotus to name a few.  As a respected multi-instrumentalist, he has performed with diverse talents like Devotchka, The Motet, DJ Logic, and the Boulder Philharmonic.

Speaking about Comfort Zone, VanScoten noted that the tracks here represent his most wholehearted commitment to downtempo. Using a golden combination of calculated synth work, guitars, banjos and mandolins, coupled with expert electronic programing, the melodies shine through as plush soundscapes for an extraterrestrial sunset. Loci label head Emancipator says about the project, “Each song on this album is an imaginative story told through sound. D.V.S* has created a most satisfying balance of beats, atmosphere, and leads, both familiar and boundary pushing.”

With a goal set out of actualizing the blissful beats happening in his head, D.V.S* has been able to create an album with deeply focused intention. As he states “I recently had a daughter, and since then I’ve taken a real close look at what does and does not work for me creatively. There’s only so much time when you become a parent, but that’s a blessing because every move is so much more intentional. It can be a very positive thing, because you’re only keeping what works.”

L4LM is pleased to debut the exclusive album stream here:

Comfort Zone will be available Tuesday, Dec 9th from Loci Records on Bandcamp and select digital retailers. You can pre-order the album via Bandcamp.

Track list:

1. Something Always Happens

2. Winter Is Coming (co-produced by Space Jesus)

3. Elbow From the Sky

4. Hashu feat. Stév

5. We Could Be feat. Jayce

6. Scents and Paints

7. Holdin On

8. Decoy


Mark McGwin 12/6/14 Follow me: @markmcgwin