By 1969, Jimi Hendrix had found fame and success with the Experience after playing Woodstock, but he wanted more. Unfulfilled by the fame, Hendrix left his band and recruited drummer Buddy Miles and bassist Billy Cox for a new ensemble, The Band Of Gypsys. The guitarist totally reinvented his image with the new crew, abandoning his previous catalog and focusing on a more blues-based approach.

The Band Of Gypsys made their triumphant debut on the final day of the 1960s, performing at The Fillmore East in New York, NY on December 31st, 1969. Now, nearly 50 years later, the recording of Hendrix’s early show on 12/31/69 is coming out for a new release. Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 is due out on September 30th.

To get you in the groove for this new album, Yahoo! has premiered the first track from the new album. Listen to “Izabella,” streaming below.

Machine Gun: The Fillmore East First Show 12/31/69 Tracklist

1. Power Of Soul
2. Lover Man
3. Hear My Train A Comin’
4. Changes
5. Izabella
6. Machine Gun
7. Stop
8. Ezy Ryder
9. Bleeding Heart
10. Earth Blues
11. Burning Desire

[H/T JamBase]