The Meters may not get any love from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, but they’re about to get a truly high honor from the organization behind the Grammy Awards. The Recording Academy has announced that the New Orleans funk pioneers are among the artists that will receive a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award during a special ceremony and concert this summer. Other 2018 recipients include Queen, Neil Diamond, Tina Turner, Emmylou Harris, Louis Jordan, and famed “Wrecking Crew” studio drummer Hal Blaine.

A statement from The Recording Academy reads:

The Meters—Joseph “Zigaboo” Modeliste, Art Neville, Cyril Neville, Leo Nocentelli, and George Porter Jr.—are considered by many to be the founding fathers of funk and, for more than 50 years, they have grooved their way around the globe. They have toured and performed with such artists as the Rolling Stones, Dr. John, Robert Palmer, Labelle, Earl King, Allen Toussaint, and Lee Dorsey. Their trademark sound of syncopated layered percussion intertwined with gritty grooves on guitar, bass, and organ, blends funk, blues, and dance grooves with a New Orleans vibe that is regarded as one of the most influential in music history. The Meters’ unique place as a touchstone for countless artists across many genres and as one of the most sampled groups in all of hip-hop and pop music, have kept them relevant to contemporary audiences in a way that few groups can claim.

In addition to honoring a variety of legendary musicians with their Lifetime Achievement Awards, The Recording Academy will also bestow Trustee Awards on film composer John Williams, music executive Seymour Stein, and late impresario Bill Graham, who played an essential role in bringing iconic artists like the Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, The Allman Brothers Band and Janis Joplin to a wider audience.

Additional details about the awards ceremony will be revealed in the coming weeks.

[Photo: Marc Millman]