Neil Young & Crazy Horse have officially announced their forthcoming studio album, Colorado, set for release in October. Young revealed on his Neil Young Archives (NYA) website that the 10-track album’s first single is “coming out this month.”

Young, bassist Billy Talbot, drummer Ralph Molina, and multi-instrumentalist Nils Lofgren recorded Colorado at 9,200 feet elevation in Telluride and the band used their old tube board, microphones, and equipment for the recent studio endeavor, which was mastered by John Hanlon.

“Billy, Ralphie, Nils and I are very happy to bring this song ‘Rainbow Of Colors’ to you in all its ragged glory, as my original producer and life-long friend, the late David Briggs once said,” Young explained on NYA. “10 new songs ranging from around 3 minutes to over 13 minutes, will be coming your way. We hope you love this new album as much as we do.”

Neil will also unveil a new documentary film about the recording process, Mountaintop Sessions, in over 100 theaters world-wide the same week in October the LP arrives. Young added, “It is a wild one folks, no holds barred. You will see the whole process just as it went down! Worts and all! I don’t think a film about this subject with the openness and intensity we have captured has ever been seen.”

Colorado will be available on CD, streaming services, and double Vinyl, with the latter featuring three sides plus a 7″ exclusive two-sided single that won’t be included on the album.

Earlier this month, Young put the majority of his remaining 2019 touring plans on hold to focus on a number of upcoming film projects. Young is still set to perform at Farm Aid 2019 at Wisconsin’s Alpine Valley Music Theatre on September 21st and at the Harvest Moon: A Gathering benefit in Lake Hughes, CA on September 14th.

Colorado Tracklist:

  1. Think Of Me
  2. She Showed Me Love
  3. Olden Days
  4. Help Me Lose My Mind
  5. Green Is Blue
  6. Shut It Down
  7. Milky Way
  8. Eternity
  9. Rainbow Of Colors
  10. I Do
View Tour Dates