Neil Young has announced a new album, Before and After, featuring new solo recordings of classic songs that flow from one into the next, creating a single piece of music.

Due out December 8th via Reprise, the album features Young on all instruments, with the exception of the vibraphone parts on “My Heart” and second piano on “When I Hold You In My Arms”, which are Bob Rice. The record was produced by Lou Adler and mixed by Niko Bolas (a.k.a. The Volume Dealers) with assistance from Young.

Related: Phish Finishes Nashville Run With Rare “Cinnamon Girl” Bust-Out, Big Second-Set Jams [Photos/Videos]

“Songs from my life recently recorded create a music montage with no beginnings or endings,” Young described the album. “The feeling is captured, not in pieces but as a whole piece. Soon to your ears and heart and soul–music defies shuffling, digital organization, separation. Only for listening.”

With the announcement, Neil Young shared the first three songs from the album. Watch the video below and click below to view the album tracklist. Pre-order the album here.

Neil Young – Before and After, Pt. 1: “I’m the Ocean/Homefires/Burned”

Before and After Trackllist:

I’m The Ocean
On The Way Home
If You Got Love
A Dream That Can Last
[vinyl side break]
My Heart
When I Hold You In My Arms
Mother Earth
Mr. Soul
Comes A Time
Don’t Forget Love

View Tracklist