In late June, North Mississippi Allstars announced their forthcoming studio album, Up and Rolling, set for release on October 4th via New West Records. The band, fronted by brothers Luther Dickinson and Cody Dickinson, recently shared the album’s title track with an accompanying music video, which premiered via Relix.

The forthcoming album was produced by the Dickinson brothers at their family studio, The Zebra Ranch, and features a plethora of all-star guests including Mavis Staples, Jason Isbell, Cedric Burnside, Duane Betts, and Sharde Thomas.

“Up and Rolling” is an easy-flowing tune anchored by a clean, straightforward riff from Luther Dickinson’s guitar and similarly consistent beat from drummer Cody Dickinson (plus new bassist Carl Dufrene, formerly of Anders Osborne’s band), with Luther and vocalist Sharisse Norman crooning over the top about “Mississippi hippies tripping LSD.”

Luther shared his thoughts on the new video with Relix. He explained,

The video for ‘Up and Rolling’ was shot on location at our family’s recording studio compound and Otha Turner’s driveway. [Director] J.B. Lawrence got a mean case of poison ivy. I escaped with a mere 30 or so chigger bites. You can see the Mississippi heat in the haze of our film. The camera shut down from overheating at one point. ‘Up and Rolling’ is about good times and despite the heat we genuinely enjoyed ourselves, goofing around, dancing to the tune blasting out of our Ford van. The nighttime dancing in head light shoot ran J.B.’s car battery down but our van’s faithful jumper cables saved the day and we went our separate ways, hot, exhausted, and only beginning to itch.

Watch North Mississippi Allstars new “Up and Rolling” video below:

The North Mississippi Allstars – “Up and Rolling”

[Video: New West Records]

To pre-order Up and Rolling, view a full list of the band’s upcoming tour dates, ticketing, and more information, head to North Mississippi Allstars website.

Up and Rolling Tracklist:

  1. Call That Gone
  2. Up and Rolling
  3. What You Gonna Do? (feat. Mavis Staples)
  4. Drunk Outdoors
  5. Peaches
  6. Mean Old World (feat. Jason Isbell and Duane Betts)
  7. Out on the Road (feat. Cedric Burnside)
  8. Lonesome in My Home
  9. Bump that Mother
  10. Living Free
  11. Take My Hand, Precious Lord (feat. Cedric Burnside)
  12. Otha’s Bye Bye Baby (feat. Otha Turner)
View Tracklist