For years, New Haven, CT’s Eggy has been entrancing audiences with their impressive live shows. Now, after years of work recording and honing their craft, the quartet—comprised of guitarist Jake Brownstein, keyboardist Dani Battat, bassist Mike Goodman, and drummer Alex Bailey—is preparing to release their debut studio album, Watercolor Days, on March 30th.

As the band explains in a statement to Live For Live Music,

When we started recording two years ago, we sought to capture a vision of our music, a representation of our band. Through the recording process, we watched as our vision unfolded before us. In some ways, this record is reflective of where we are headed—the unknown, both beautiful and curious. In others, it’s a reflection of what we’ve done so far. Above all, it’s a tribute to the namesake of our band and our fallen friend, Edward “Eggy” Torrence. The song “Watercolor Days” was written just following his passing. This album is dedicated to him and his memory, and to those who can’t keep going with us in the physical world, but are ingrained with us always. It is an honor for us to carry on his name.

While their highly trained individual musical abilities are what initially draws listeners in, Eggy has earned themselves an ever-growing fanbase because of the breadth of their talent as a unit. From their thoughtful, clever songwriting and four-part vocal harmonies to their spellbinding group improvisation and sonic exploration, what sets Eggy apart are the contrasting facets of their sound—loud and soft, absurd and sincere, poignant emotion and reckless abandon.

The first single off Watercolor Days, “Lost and Found”, gives fans both new and old a fresh taste of that eclectic approach. Building off a catchy guitar riff, the 8-minute track traverses several distinct sections and styles—from anthemic rock howls to Dilla-like syncopation to exotic, ethereal tones and beyond.

Notes Jake Brownstein, “The reflective yet quirky lyrics of ‘Lost and Found’ are matched by its evolving musical journey. Along with ‘Graceless’ and ‘Golden Gate Dancer’, also featured on Watercolor Days, it’s a great example of the seamless pairing between [friend and songwriting partner] Patrick Amarante’s lyrics and our music.”

Today, Live For Live Music is excited to premiere “Lost and Found”, the first single off of Eggy’s debut album, Watercolor Days. Give it a listen below:

Eggy – “Lost and Found”

Watercolor Days – Album Cover

Eggy, Watercolor Days, Eggy Watercolor Days

[Artwork: Dean McKeaver]

Eggy – Watercolor Days – Tracklisting

1. In It For The Ride
2. BubaGum
3. Upside Down
4. Hux
5. Lost and Found
6. Figure It Out
7. Golden Gate Dancer
8. Watercolor Days
9. Graceless

View Album Tracklist

On March 30th, Eggy will celebrate the official release of Watercolor Days with an album release show at Fairfield Theatre Company StageOne in Fairfield, CT featuring support from Hayley Jane (solo). In celebration of the new album, all advance ticket purchases for Eggy’s album release show will come with a free CD copy of Watercolor Days, available to pick up at the merch table on the day of the performance.

You can grab your tickets to Eggy’s Watercolor Days album release show here.


Pre-order copies of Watercolor Days are available here. Eggy will be touring extensively in support of the new release throughout this year. Keep an eye on the band’s social media for details coming soon.