In a recent interview with EsquireRadiohead guitarist Ed O’Brien confirmed that he has plans to release his debut solo album, slated for release in the tail end of 2018 or early 2019. In the interview, O’Brien stated that he hopes that the upcoming album will be finished by next summer, noting that he had just wrapped up a three-week recording session with drummer Omar Hakim (drummer on David Bowie’s “Let’s Dance”), guitarist and vocalist Dave Okumu (The Invisible), and bassist Nathan East.

Fox News Just Called Radiohead “The Poor Man’s Coldplay”

During the interview, O’Brien also explained the inspiration for the album produced by Flood (U2, Depeche Mode, PJ Harvey) and Catherine Marks (Foals, The Killers, Local Natives). , saying, “Without getting into it too much, going to Carnival in Rio was very inspiring. Rhythm and groove were a big part of it.” He continued, “I’m really enjoying it. It feels really right at the moment.”

To support the new album, O’Brien has plans for a select number of solo shows in 2018. Given Radiohead’s nomination for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, Consequence of Sound speculates that “at least one of those performances will likely come onstage as part of the band’s induction.”

Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Announces 2018 Induction Nominees

Ed O’Brien’s focus on solo projects is certainly not out of line with the rest of the members of Radiohead, who similarly are using 2018 to pursue individual solo endeavors. Thom Yorke, who will also embark on a brief U.S. solo tour in December, and Jonny Greenwood both have been tapped to score films. Yorke’s composition for the remake of cult horror classic Suspiria will mark the iconic rocker’s debut film score, while Greenwood is slated to work on Paul Thomas Anderson’s Phantom Thread as well as You Were Never Really Here.

Radiohead & Hans Zimmer Release “Blue Planet II” Collaboration

[H/T Consequence of Sound; Photo: Listen To The Beat]