Robert Plant and Alison Krauss have shared audio of “High and Lonesome”, the second single off their forthcoming studio album, Raise The Roof. Marking their first new album in 14 years, Raise The Roof will arrive in late 2021 via Rounder Records.

“High and Lonesome” follows the August single release of their take on Randy Weeks and Lucinda Williams‘ “Can’t Let Go”. Interestingly enough, “High and Lonesome” also marks the album’s lone original tune, co-written by Plant and producer T Bone Burnett.

Related: Then & Now: Celebrating Robert Plant’s Historic Career On His 73rd Birthday [Videos]

Featuring an all-star lineup of Jay Bellerose (drums), Dennis Crouch (bass), Marc Ribot (guitar), Russell Pahl (pedal steel), Viktor Krauss (mellotron), Jeff Taylor (accordion), and Burnett (guitar/mellotron), “High and Lonesome” guides the listener down a bluesy, musical river.

The chugging of Burnett’s electric guitar builds tension throughout the verses as Plant repeats each refrain at the end of every line. “I must find my love,” says Plant three times, backed by the highs of Krauss and lows from Burnett. This pattern continues with the questions “will she still be mine,” “would she still care for me,” and “does she still think of me?”

“One of my favorite parts of this is the songs and songwriters that I had never heard of,” said Alison Krauss in a press release. “Working with Robert, and with T Bone, is always a great education in music history.”

Listen to the newest single from Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, “High and Lonesome”, below and click here to listen on the platform of your choice. Scroll down for a full tracklist of Raise The Roof, due out on November 19th.

Robert Plant & Alison Krauss – “High and Lonesome”

[Video: Robert Plant & Alison Krauss]

Raise The Roof  Tracklist

1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching for My Love
6. Can’t Let Go
7. It Don’t Bother Me
8. You Led Me to The Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High and Lonesome
11. Going Where the Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

View Tracklist