Rodrigo y Gabriela have announced their new album, Mettavolution, due out April 26th via ATO Records. Three years in the making, and five years since their last album, the Mexican acoustic rock duo have shared a first taste of the album in the form of “Echoes”, a cover of the Pink Floyd Meddle track, which takes up the entire second half of the seven-song album.

Mettavolution brings together Rod and Gab’s passionate interest in Buddhism, the history of human evolution and the liberation of the potential we have as a species,” a press release explains about the new album, “all expressed through the medium of two acoustic guitars.”

The new album was conceived and composed in their studio in Ixtapa on the Mexican Pacific Coast, then road-tested and tweaked throughout the last two years of touring in South America, the USA, and Australia. In addition to their Pink Floyd arrangement, which pays homage to the prog classic song off the band’s 1971 opus, Meddle, the rest of the material is made up of six original Rodrigo y Gabriela compositions.

“We are big Pink Floyd fans. That track, especially the live in Pompeii version means a lot to us, we even made a huge visual reference in our video for ‘Hanuman’,” the duo explains. “Besides that, the lyrics are even more relevant now than they were 45 years ago, the search for knowledge about ourselves, it’s becoming a key element for survival these days, that’s what evolution is all about at the end of the day.”

Listen to the impressive, nearly 19-minute interpretation of “Echoes” below:

Rodrigo y Gabriela – “Echoes” [Pink Floyd cover]

Mettavolution Tracklist:
1. Mettavolution
2. Terracentric
3. Cumbé
4. Electric Soul
5. Krotona Days
6. Witness Tree
7. Echoes

View All Tour Dates

Rodrigo y Gabriela will be touring throughout the year. North American tour dates will be announced soon.


13 – Munich – Technikum
15 – Berlin – Columbia Theater
17 – Bourges – Printemps de Bourges
18 – Luxembourg – den Atelier
19 – Brussels – Cirque Royal
21 – Dublin – Olympia Theatre
24 – London – Roundhouse
25 – Paris – Olympia
27 – Chamonix – Musilac Mont Blanc (festival appearance)

View All Tour Dates