Billy Strings, Tyler Childers, The War & Treaty, SG Goodman, and Bonnie Raitt were among the nights big winners at the 22nd annual Americana Honors, hosted on Wednesday night by the Americana Music Association as part of the week-long AmericanaFest at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium with presenters including Brandi Carlile, comedian Sarah Silverman, and Kacey Musgraves.

Billy Strings took home the Artist of the Year award for the second year in a row despite a crowded field of nominees that included Charley Crockett, Sierra Ferrell, Margo Price, and Allison Russell.

“This is not how I expected the evening to go,” he told the audience after needing to be summoned from backstage to accept the award. “I was three hours ago sitting on my couch watching mindless television. My manager called and said, ‘Hey you know there’s this thing going on down there. You’re nominated. Maybe you go to hang out.’ And I walked in the back door and I saw all my friends, and that’s what I’m feeling right now.

Related: Billy Strings Sits In With Brandi Carlile, Michael Cleveland At Bourbon & Beyond [Photos/Videos]

“I moved to Nashville in 2015 not really knowing what I’d find or what would happen, and I found the most colorful and vibrant musical community that I could ever imagine, and so I’m just honored to be part of the community and to be even mentioned in the same breath as the other nominees. Charley Crockett, Margo Price, Sierra Ferrell, Allison—uh, all y’all, all these amazing musicians. I just can’t even believe I’m standing here in the same room as them, so thank all y’all so much, and I wanna say also thank you to my band, who’s been there by my side running up and down the highway, kicking ass, so thank y’all so much.”

Billy Strings Wins Artist Of The Year At Americana Honors

Tyler Childers also came out on top, willing Album of the Year for his three-disc Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven? Childers previously won Emerging Act of the Year in 2018 and used his acceptance speech to openly criticize the category of Americana itself, saying, “As a man who identifies as a country music singer, I feel Americana ain’t no part of nothin’. It is a distraction from the issues that we are facing on a bigger level as country music singers.” Childers was not in attendance on Wednesday, but his friend Kentucky poet laureate Silas House was there to accepted it on his behalf.

Related: Tyler Childers Embraces His Inner Elvis On New Album ‘Rustin’ In The Rain’ [Stream]

Other notable winners included Bonnie Raitt, who took home Song of the Year for “Just Like That”, S.G. Goodman, who won Emerging Artist of the Year, and the Avett Brothers, who earned the Trailblazer Award alongside Nickel Creek. Seth Avett expressed a sentiment opposite to Childers’ criticism, saying the band never liked the labels of rock or country, but that Americana felt just right. “It’s so beautiful to be called that, and we never want out.”

The Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award was presented to Allison Russell by The Tennessee Three, which in this case refers not to Johnny Cash‘s backing band, but to Gloria Johnson, Justin Jones, and Justin Pearson—three members of the Tennessee State House who were reprimanded for their involvement in a gun control protest on the House floor after the school shooting at The Covenant School in Nashville.

The award ceremony also featured a number of performances, including 49 Winchester, Adeem the Artist, Allison Russell, Angel Olsen, Brandi Carlile, Brandy Clark, Margo Price, The Milk Carton Kids with Noah Kahan, Rufus Wainwright, Sunny War, and William Prince.

Check out the full list of winners and nominees from the 22nd annual Americana Honors and watch the entire ceremony below. The full award show will be edited for rebroadcast via Austin City Limits at a later date.

22nd Annual Americana Honors

2023 Americana Music Awards Winners


Big Time, Angel Olsen; Produced by Angel Olsen and Jonathan Wilson
Can I Take My Hounds To Heaven?, Tyler Childers; Produced by Tyler Childers – WINNER
El Bueno y el Malo, Hermanos Gutiérrez; Produced by Dan Auerbach
The Man from Waco, Charley Crockett; Produced by Bruce Robison
Strays, Margo Price; Produced by Margo Price and Jonathan Wilson


Charley Crockett
Sierra Ferrell
Margo Price
Allison Russell
Billy Strings – WINNER


49 Winchester
Nickel Creek
The War and Treaty – WINNER


Adeem the Artist
S.G. Goodman – Winner
William Prince
Thee Sacred Souls
Sunny War


“Change of Heart,” Margo Price; Written by Jeremy Ivey, Margo Price
“I’m Just a Clown,” Charley Crockett; Written by Charley Crockett
“Just Like That,” Bonnie Raitt; Written by Bonnie Raitt – WINNER
“Something in the Orange,” Zach Bryan; Written by Zach Bryan
“You’re Not Alone,” Allison Russell featuring Brandi Carlile; Written by Allison Russell


Isa Burke
Allison de Groot
Jeff Picker
SistaStrings – Chauntee and Monique Ross – WINNER
Kyle Tuttle