Charley Crockett has returned with news of his second album of the year, The Man From Waco, out on September 9th via Thirty Tigers. Along with Wednesday’s announcement, the singer-songwriter shared the genre-bending single “I’m Just A Clown”.

The lead offering from The Man From Waco hears the Texas troubadour hopping stylistic freight trains from Memphis down to the Texas Gulf Coast. Hints of vintage southwestern Tennessee swing commingle with Crockett’s trademark down-and-out lyricism, resulting in something unique from the man who has put out four albums in the past two years. His most recent release, the fourth installment of his Lil G.L. Presents cover album series, arrived back in April.

Related: Arlo McKinley Says “I Don’t Mind” On Latest Single [Listen]

Some of the individuality of “I’m Just A Clown” can be attributed to producer Bruce Robison, who recorded The Man From Waco at his Austin studio and shares co-writing credit on the lead single. Crockett originally visited Robison’s space for a demo which ultimately rolled into a full album session, with Charley bringing in his Blue Drifters backing band and recording many of the tracks in one take.

“I just wanted an honest partnership: do it at your place, live to tape, everybody in the room,” Crockett said in a statement. “The magic is in the performances on that tape. That’s what Bruce wanted to do, that’s what I wanted to do. When we were done, I said ‘these are masters, not demos.’”

Check out “I’m Just A Clown”, the lead single from the upcoming Charley Crockett album The Man From Waco, available here for pre-order. Crockett will hit the road this summer, playing a mix of headlining dates and shows as part of Willie Nelson‘s traveling Outlaw Festival on select dates.

Charley Crockett – “I’m Just A Clown”

The Man From Waco Tracklist:

  1. “The Man From Waco Theme” (Charley Crockett, Kullen Fox)
  2. “Cowboy Candy” (Crockett)
  3. “Time of the Cottonwood Trees” (Crockett)
  4. “Just Like Honey” (Crockett, Fox)
  5. “I’m Just a Clown” (Crockett)
  6. “Black Sedan” (Crockett, Fox)
  7. “The Man From Waco” (Crockett, Fox, Bruce Robison, Taylor Grace)
  8. “Trinity River” (Crockett)
  9. “Tom Turkey” (Crockett, Bob Dylan)
  10. “Odessa” (Crockett, Nathan Fleming)
  11. “All the Way From Atlanta” (Crockett)
  12. “Horse Thief Mesa” (Crockett)
  13. “July Jackson” (Crockett, Grace)
  14. “The Man From Waco Theme” (Crockett, Fox)
View Tracklist