King Canyon, the new supergroup collaboration featuring Soulive guitarist Eric Krasno, producer/multi-insrtumentalist Otis McDonald, and bassist Mike Chiavaro, has shared its first single, “Keep On Movin'”. The track is set to appear on the group’s forthcoming self-titled debut, which is due out on December 2nd and features contributions from Derek Trucks and Son Little.

King Canyon formed during the pandemic after Eric Krasno came across Otis McDonald on Instagram. McDonald had already been working on new music with his longtime friend Mike Chiavaro, a Brooklyn-based electric and upright bass player who’s played with Richard Marx and Boy & Bear, among others, and the pair enlisted Krasno to record guitar remotely. Soon enough, the trio had developed enough material for a full album despite never meeting in person. With their self-titled debut album set to release in December via Mixto Records, the three musicians still have never been in the same room.

Related: Soulive To Play 16-Show Residency In NYC During Blue Note Jazz Festival

“Keep On Movin'”, the band’s debut single, has a laid-back groove and vintage sound. With ample reverb, understated vocals, and some psychedelic effects, the song subtly suggests influences from African and South-Asian funk more reminiscent of Khruangbin than any of the collaborators’ previous projects.

“Keep On Movin'” is now available on all streaming platforms. Listen to the song via YouTube in the player below. King Canyon’s self-titled debut is due out December 2nd. Follow the band on Facebook and Instagram for updates.

King Canyon – “Keep On Movin'”