Eric Krasno has unveiled “Silence”, the second single from his new solo album, Always, due out on February 4th, 2022 via Mascot Label Group. The new track follows the album’s lead single, “So Cold“, and arrives along with a dreamy, kaleidoscopic music video.

As Krasno explains of the new track, “‘Silence’ is a song I wrote a number of years ago about the torture of not knowing. I sing about how the silent treatment can make your mind spiral into [the] darkest place where you assume the worst situation is inevitable.” The song’s sparse, soul-funk instrumentation falls in neatly with its lyrical themes, while the heavy-hitting, hip-hop breakbeat feels like a ticking clock driving home the sting in each moment of being ignored.

Despite its heavier themes, the song itself marked an undoubtedly positive turning point in the creative process as the first track for Always that Krasno worked on with Otis McDonald, who would go on to serve as the album’s co-producer. Explains Krasno, “The original track I sent him [for ‘Silence’] had just acoustic guitar, piano, and vocals. As we built the track, I think it set the tone and feel for the album as a whole.”

That tone on Always is rooted in the loyal permanence of family ties, something the lauded guitarist/producer/bandleader had been missing prior to last year. “Before 2020, I was having a good time, but I wasn’t grounded at all,” Krasno said in a press release when Always was initially announced. “I was going from gig to gig. I was always running around without a purpose. During the last year, I found my people in terms of my wife and son. I’ve created a family who will always be there for me. That’s what the album is about.”

“My wife and I got married, bought a house, and had a baby,” Krasno said. “I had heard the song many times before, but it had never quite hit me the way it was hitting me. I recorded it with just acoustic guitar and vocals, and I loved what Otis did to it. He sent it back to me, and I thought, ‘This is exactly how I want to make my next record.’”

Eric Krasno Always Album Cover

eric krasno always

Recording first virtually and then at the Bay Area’s legendary Hyde Street Studios—famous for hosting the likes of 2Pac, the Grateful Dead, and Digital Underground—Krasno and McDonald tapped into a shared spirit as co-producers, recording the record and ultimately forming Eric Krasno & The Assembly with Otis on bass, Wil Blades on keys and organ, Curtis Kelly on drums, and James VIII on guitar and vocals. The band has since booked a number of live gigs.

“In the past, I personally just felt like I was a guitarist, songwriter, and a producer,” said Krasno. “Now, I feel like a fully formed artist.”

Related: Watch Eric Krasno & The Assembly Make Their Live Debut At Red Rocks [Video]

Listen to “Silence” by Eric Krasno on the platform of your choice or pre-order Always here. Check out the official music video and a full Always tracklist below. For more information, head to Krasno’s website.

Eric Krasno – “Silence” (Official Music Video)

[Video: Eric Krasno]

Eric Krasno – Always – Tracklist

1. Silence
2. So Cold
3. Lost Myself
4. Man in Me
5. Alone Together
6. Where I Belong
7. Leave Me Alone
8. Good Thing
9. Hold Tight
10. Always With You

View Tracklist