Progressive funk ensemble Ghost-Note stopped by Soundcheck Studios in Pembroke, MA on Thursday. The group led by Snarky Puppy percussion duo Robert Sput Searight (Herbie Hancock, Kendrick Lamar) on drums and Nate Werth on percussion is currently in the midst of The Groove Train 2022 tour, with dates leading up to the band’s appearance at Joshua Tree Music Festival on October 7th.

Sput and Werth were joined by a stacked cast of young heavy-hitters including Xavier Lynn on guitar, Jay Mack on bass, Dominique Xavier Taplin (Prince, Toto) on keyboards, Jonathan Mones (Funky Knuckles, RC & The Gritz) on alto sax and flute, and Daniel Wytanis on trombone.

Ghost-Note recently shared a new single, “Wait A Minute”, available now on all streaming platforms. Made in collaboration with Sput’s Sputacular Musik, the track includes lyrics by The Late Show With Stephen Colbert bandleader Louis Cato and features vocalist Nathan Myers and drummer Ash Soan. The band performed the track live in studio with Myers and Soan for an episode of Zildjian LIVE! Season 2 back in 2020. Click here to watch video of the performance.

Check out a gallery of photos from Ghost-Note at Soundcheck Studios courtesy of photographer Ken Spielman below.