Bassist Pino Palladino and multi-instrumentalist/producer Blake Mills have shared another new recording that will appear on the duo’s forthcoming collaboration album Notes With Attachments, due out March 12th via New Deal/Impulse!

Entitled, “Ekuté”, the 5:30 minute piece follows previously-shared compositions “Just Wrong” and “Man From Molise”, and features playing from notable guest contributors Andrew Bird (violin), Chris Dave (keyboards), and Marcus Strickland (clarinet/saxophone).

The quirky instrumental is much livelier than the two previously-shared singles and bounces along with some Afrobeat-inspired energy courtesy of Chris Dave on the small drum kit. The various musicians pop in and out throughout the experimental piece, and the familiar sounds of Strickland’s horn parts help keep the music grounded, relatively.

Listen to the experimental new single from Pino Palladino and Blake Mills in full below.

Pino Palladino + Blake Mills – “Ekuté”

[Video: Official Blake Mills]

Click here to pre-order Notes With Attachments.