The official video for 1992 Tom Petty Wildflowers outtake “Drivin’ Down to Georgia” is out now via the late rocker’s YouTube channel. The previously unreleased track was recently included on Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions)a standalone release culled from the massive 2020 Wildflowers & All The Rest box set.

Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions) features sixteen studio recordings of alternate takes, long cuts, and jam versions of Wildflowers songs as Tom, band members, and co-producers Rick Rubin and Mike Campbell worked to finalize the album in 1994. The release offers fans a deep dive into the writing and recording of Wildflowers, realizing the full vision of the project as Tom had always intended with All The Rest.

The collection was produced by Ryan Ulyate, who listened to 245 reels of 24-track tape, revealing Tom and his collaborators’ evolutionary process and finding the group willing to do whatever it took to discover the essence and magic in the material.

In the new music video for “Drivin’ Down to Georgia”, archival footage by Martyn Atkins and Heartbreakers bassist Ron Blair, we get a peek into the life of Petty in the early-to-mid-90s as footage of him performing onstage at various gigs dissolves in and out of video clips from the road.

With the same road warrior grit as Petty classics like “Runnin’ Down A Dream” and the fresh-yet-familiar quality of the unearthed release, it’s certainly an enjoyable drive. Watch the Alison Tavel-directed video for “Drivin’ Down to Georgia” by Tom Petty below.

Tom Petty – “Drivin’ Down to Georgia” (Official Video)

[Video: Tom Petty]

For more information on Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versionsor to order your black vinyl copy, head to the Tom Petty website.

Tom Petty – Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions) – Track Listing

1. A Higher Place (Alternate Version)
2. Hard on Me (Alternate Version)
3. Cabin Down Below (Alternate Version)
4. Crawling Back to You (Alternate Version)
5. Only a Broken Heart (Alternate Version)
6. Drivin’ Down to Georgia
7. You Wreck Me (Alternate Version)
8. It’s Good to Be King (Alternate Version)
9. House in the Woods (Alternate Version)
10. Honey Bee (Alternate Version)
11. Girl on LSD (Alternate Version)
12. Cabin Down Below (Acoustic Version)
13. Wildflowers (Alternate Version)
14. Don’t Fade on Me (Alternate Version)
15. Wake Up Time (Alternate Version)
16. You Saw Me Comin

View Track Listing