Ty Segall surprised fans with both the announcement and release of a new album, Harmonizer, on Tuesday. The album arrives as the multi-instrumentalist’s first in two years, an unheard-of gap for the frenetic artist.

On the 10-track offering, Segall explores new musical outlooks that put a decidedly modern, updated take on his career aesthetic. From the screeching opening of “Learning” through more lyric-driven songs like the title track, the fuzzed-out origins of the underground svengali still abound but are matched by an enhanced focus on synthesizers. Though Segall’s name is synonymous with DIY, lo-fi experimentation and heavy riffs, Harmonizer offers a polished take on that esthetic which gives the noise a clearer definition.

Related: Ty Segall & Freedom Band Share Live “Manipulator” Ahead Of ‘Levitation Sessions’ Stream [Watch]

Harminozer finds Segall at the helm, with the album marking the first release from his newly-completed Harmonizer Studios. The LP was also a collaboration with Cooper Crain who served as co-producer alongside Ty. Segall’s Freedom Band, one of his myriad solo pursuits, also appears throughout the album, though mostly one at a time. Freedom Band members Ben Boye, Mikal Cronin, Emmett Kelly, and Charles Moothart—the latter of whom is also a member of Segall’s recently resurrected stoner metal outfit Fuzz—appear sporadically on Harmonizer along with Denée Segall who co-wrote and appears on “Feel Good” and “Waxman”.

Stream Harmonizer, the new album from Ty Segall, via the player below or on your preferred streaming platform. Physical copies are expected to arrive in October. Segall will hit the road this summer with Freedom Band and tour into the fall with shows in Nevada, California, Illinois, and Georgia. For a full list of tour dates click here. For Harmonizer lyrics and album credits click here.

Ty Segall – Harmonizer (Full Album)