Vulfpeck recently wrapped up a sold-out European tour that followed three nights at NYC’s Brooklyn Steel. The band’s success is palpable, and continued over the weekend with their first of two performances at Austin City Limits. To kick off their week in Austin, the funk quartet performed two late night performances at Emo’s. Billed Vulfpeck w/ Joey Dosik, the fivesome took the opportunity to perform their newest single “Baby I Don’t Know Oh Oh” from Vulfpeck’s upcoming seventh studio album, Mr. Finish Line.

The original recording of “Baby I Don’t Know Oh Oh” is a methodically soulful ballad sung by featured guest pianist/vocalist Charles Jones, though it was sung live by featured guest Joey Dosik who frequents with the band for their live performances. Even better, keyboardist Woody Goss stood up to perform the saxophone solo–a rarity–surprising fans beyond belief. Watch the live debut of “Baby I Don’t Know Oh Oh” below, courtesy of Lefferson Jam:

Watch the official music video for “Baby I Don’t Know Oh Oh” below:

The excellent new track marks the second to be released by the band since the announcement of Mr. Finish Line, following the cover of Mocky‘s “Birds of a Feather, We Rock Together” sung by Antwaun Stanley that they released a few weeks back. The band hasn’t indicated whether the singles will be included on the upcoming album. In the past, they have released several covers and singles that have not made it onto official LPs.

Vulfpeck Shares First Track, New Music Video Featuring Antwaun Stanley

According to the video the band released along with the album’s announcement, Mr. Finish Line will feature “10 Indi Bangers from the band that recorded Newsbeat,” a nod to their 2014 Fugue State tune. The album will feature a long list of contributors, including Stanley, Jones, Christine Hucal, legendary session guitarist David T. Walker, Danish vocalist Coco O., legendary session drummer James Gadson, funk bassist/singer/songwriter and member of Parliament Funkadelic Bootsy Collins, drummer for Prince during The New Power Generation era Michael Bland, keyboardist/saxophonist Joey Dosik (who bandleader Jack Stratton recently revealed will be taking lead vocals for his first Vulf tune) and guitarist/honorary 5th member Cory Wong. These talented players will, as always augment the core Vulfpeck quartet (comprised of Stratton, Joe DartWoody Goss, and Theo Katzman).

Vulfpeck has one more performance this Friday at Austin City Limits before concluding their scheduled shows for 2018.