Shira Elias has released SERVICES the EP, a companion to her 2020 debut solo set, GOODS the EP.

The sophomore release is a self-assured snapshot of a new chapter for Elias, who relocated from New York to Los Angeles and parted ways with her former band, Turkuaz, in addition to weathering the pandemic in the time between the two projects. Throughout the six-track EP, Elias confronts the highs, lows, evolutions, and realizations evoked by the unexpected twists and turns of love and life. SERVICES the EP reflects Shira’s journey in the past two years—“All of where I’m at,” she explained to Live For Live Music in September.

Related: Turkuaz Is Dead, Long Live Turkuaz [Interview]

SERVICES the EP‘s arrival follows the prior release of two singles, “HOOK’D” and “EARTH SUN”. The former drops listeners into the thrilling moment at the beginning of an all-consuming infatuation. “‘HOOK’D’ is about animalistic love; that carnal, raw, exciting feeling of the chase at the beginning of a connection,” shared Elias of the track. “It’s supposed to sound like the sparks that fly and build inside of you when you are attracted to someone but the mystery of not knowing where it will go.”

The smooth, soulful second single from the project, “EARTH SUN”, examines communication breakdowns and maintaining one’s sense of self in a relationship. As Elias explained of the concept, “It talks about all of the things you wish you could say but can’t. … When someone you love is trying to force their beliefs and narratives on you and you want to have a relationship, but you just can’t sacrifice your truth. So this song is about that reckoning.”

Elias recruited revered Ghost-Note keyboardist Dominique Xavier Taplin to help elucidate that internal conflict, which pools into a dream-like swirl by the song’s end. “All of this is evoking the rollercoaster of emotions that happen when two people can’t get on the same page.”

Related: Cool Cool Cool: The New Avengers Of The Turkuaz Cinematic Universe [Interview]

Other highlights from the EP include “TOXIC”, a hazy R&B jam that highlights producer MEGA‘s dynamic sonic prowess; “PERFECTLY ABLE”, a stimulating duet with co-writer and vocalist MacKenzie Green; “ILSD”, a sing-along earworm featuring tasteful talk-box texture by Swatkins; and the wavy realizations of the collection’s closing salvo, “OK”.

Shira Elias is remaining busy as her latest EP makes its way into ears across the country. In addition to a steady stream of solo dates, she is diving into a new band project, Cool Cool Cool, alongside six of her former Turkuaz bandmates. That outfit will head out on a lengthy Remain In Light tour with Talking Heads veterans Jerry Harrison and Adrian Belew next year, both as the opening act and as the backing band for the nightly headlining performances.

In the meantime, fans can catch Shira for two different sets at next weekend’s North Beach Music Festival in Miami Beach, FL, both with Cool Cool Cool and with her solo outfit. For ticketing details, head here.

Related: Shira Elias Delivers The ‘GOODS’ & ‘SERVICES’ In San Diego [Photos]

Listen to SERVICES the EP by Shira Elias on the platform of your choice here or stream it via the player below.

 Shira Elias – SERVICES the EP


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Shira Elias (@shirashirabangbang)

On January 14th, 2023, Shira Elias will take part in the newly-expanded Denver Comes Alive [get tickets]. The first-ever two-night edition of the Mile High music marathon will begin on the 13th with a bluegrass night featuring Kitchen Dwellers alongside Yonder Mountain String BandMaggie Rose, and a WinterWonderWomen superjam with Bridget Law (Elephant Revival), Lindsay LouMimi Naja (Fruition), Megan Letts (Mama Magnolia), Emma Rose (Big Richard), and Michelle Pietrafitta (Banshee Tree).

The following day will see a funk takeover by LettuceThe Word (featuring Robert Randolph, John Medeski, Luther Dickinson, Cody Dickinson, and Ray Ray Holloman), The Main Squeeze with auxiliary backing ensemble Pulp Friction (featuring Will Phillips, Adryon de León, Shira Elias, Parris Fleming, and Nick Gerlach), and Super Sonic Shorties with Nikki Glaspie (The Nth Power), Katty Rodriguez (Beyoncé), Tonya Sweets (Klymaxx/Lizzo), Natalie Cressman (Trey Anastasio Band), Ella Feingold (Silk Sonic), Amy Bellamy (G. Love), and Erica Falls (Erica Falls Band).